Foundation for Focus House offering scholarships

ROCHELLE — The Foundation for Focus House Scholarship Program is offering scholarships on behalf of the LaVerne and Margaret Franklin Adams Scholarship Fund and the F. Lawrence Lenz Scholarship Fund and the Foundation for Focus House and Community Programming Scholarship.
The LaVerne and Margaret Franklin Adams Scholarship Fund was established in May of 2002 following Mr. Adam’s death. A longtime resident of Ogle County, Mr. Adams sat on the Ogle County Board from 1972 until 2002. At the time Focus House was established in 1975, Mr. Adams was appointed and served as the chairperson of the county committee that oversaw the operation of the program.
Mrs. Franklin Adams was also very dedicated to the community and the youth at Focus House. Their family added to the scholarship in LaVerne’s name when Margaret passed away in 2020, to honor the bequest she left. They both had a great commitment to the youth of Ogle County and the Focus House program.
The F. Lawrence Lenz Scholarship Fund was established in April of 2003 by his family following his death. As an Ogle County Circuit Judge, Judge Lenz elected to be the juvenile court judge. In this capacity he was one of the instrumental supporters of the opening of Focus House in 1975. From the bench he believed in the value of having community based programs and was an advocate of Focus House until his death.
The Foundation for Focus House and Community Programming, established in 2005, exists to receive and administer contributions, gifts, memorials and bequests for the exclusive purpose of enhancing programming at Focus House and offering community programs that enhance, enrich and supplement individuals involved in court services. 
Award Components
A total of four scholarships will be awarded. Two scholarships honoring LaVerne and Margaret Franklin Adams and Judge Lenz in the amount of $500 each and two Foundation for Focus House general scholarships in the amount of $500. Each will be awarded to recipients selected by the Foundation for Focus House Scholarship Committee.
Applicant must be an Ogle County resident.
Applicant must be a graduating high school senior or already enrolled or in a post-secondary institution in the year of the award. All vocational programs will be considered.
Applicant must demonstrate a positive change they have caused in themselves or their community.
Priority is given to past Focus House residents, former probationary clients, youth that have had police contact and youth that are studying criminal justice.
Applicant must submit the following items:
Completed application form. You must type or print legibly. Illegible applications will be returned to you.
Include two letters of recommendations from your choice of high school teachers, administrators, counselors, employers, or other individuals with significant knowledge of applicant’s experience and involvement.
Questions about the application may be emailed to Jeni Hardin at [email protected]
Deadline for the application is April 15. Applications postmarked after this date will not be considered.
Please mail to: Foundation for Focus House Scholarship Program, Attn: Jeni Hardin, PO Box 491     Rochelle, IL 61068
You may also send the application and other materials via email to [email protected]
 E-mailed applications must be received by 11:59 p.m. on April 15.


Video News