Interstate 8 Conference honors spring student-athletes

All RTHS seniors to receive All-Conference recognition

ROCHELLE — The Interstate 8 Conference has recognized all senior student-athletes as All-Conference honorees this spring season. In a press release Friday afternoon, the conference detailed that the decision was made to recognize the seniors who lost their final spring seasons to the coronavirus pandemic.

"The schools of the Interstate 8 Conference are proud to announce the All-Conference teams for the 2020 spring season," the press release stated. "This season has been lost to the COVID-19 pandemic; the senior athletes in baseball, girls soccer, softball, boys tennis, girls track and field and boys track and field have dedicated themselves for four years to their respective sports, thus the conference is naming all senior athletes to the All-Conference team for their respective sports."

Rochelle will have three All-Conference baseball players including Gavin Ansteth, Ethan Etes and Austin Greifenkamp. Four softball players will earn All-Conference honors including Molly Irving, Ally Reish, Abby Reish and Hannah Luxton. Six members of the boys tennis team are now All-Conference recipients including Saul Alanis, Sean Flanagan, Micah Koziol, Carlos Nambo, Gabriel Nava and Max Torres.

The Interstate 8 Conference named nine All-Conference winners from the girls track and field team including Britney Baez, Gabrielle Harding, Breanna Heisner, Cassie Moore, Madie Ohlinger, Amy Price, Macey Ryan, Angie Saldana and Emma Smith. The girls soccer team saw five players named All-Conference honorees including Kaitlynn Ost, Jaderi Ibarra, Viviana Belmonte, Hannah Eldred and Ruby Cervantes.

The boys track and field team will have a spring-high 20 All-Conference winners including Zack Akey, Austin Brown, Quinton Casey, Ben Hickey, Brayden Bonilla, Diego Escobar, George Rogriguez, Gyvanziel Quinonez, Jazper Murray, Nathan Miller, Nick Albers, Parker Hale, Riley Patrick, Santi Cordoba, Seth Gould, Tucker Louis, Ulices Montoya, Uzziel Zarate, Evan Horner and Aaron Vondergathen.


Video News