Ogle County DUI Court receives Illinois Supreme Court approval

OREGON – The Ogle County New Horizons Specialty Court Team is pleased to announce that the Illinois Supreme Court has approved the certification of its DUI Court Program.
DUI Court is a Problem Solving Court with a mission similar to Ogle County New Horizons Drug Court (est. 2009) to reduce the ripple-effect cost of substance-related offenses, hold offenders accountable for their behaviors and prevent recidivism. The DUI Court will do this through an increased level of supervision, addressing the intensive individualized recovery program of each offender, and facilitating them to become productive, responsible Ogle County community members.  
According to Brooke Plachno, Ogle County Specialty Court Coordinator, “DUI Court is a team approach, consisting of specialized disciplines surrounding the criminal justice system and treatment community.”
“There are numerous reforms taking place in the criminal justice system. Many of these reforms are premised on the recognition that sending people to prison does not necessarily work,” DUI Court Presiding Judge Clayton Lindsey added. “While there will always be a certain part of the “criminal sector” that deserves and warrants imprisonment, it is costly to the state. More importantly, studies show that many people who are sent to prison simply come out better criminals and without any rehabilitation. If we spend our resources teaching, training and providing basic skills on coping, remaining sober, rebuilding families, and the benefits of living life with purpose, we can change that addictive behavior and turn people that we used to refer to as “criminals” to productive members of society.”
Members of Ogle County New Horizons Specialty Court Team include Clayton L. Lindsey, DUI Court Presiding Judge; Ben Roe, Drug Court Presiding Judge;  Eric Morrow, Ogle County State’s Attorney; Dennis Riley, Public Defender; Brooke Plachno, Coordinator; Brigette Beckman, Probation Officer; Brian Peterson, Probation Officer; Emily Roemer, Probation Officer; Kevin Buss, Sinnissippi Centers; Sheriff Brian VanVickle, Ogle County Sheriff; Lieutenant Jason Lynn, Ogle County Sheriff’s Department; and Dr. Adeyemi O. Fatoki, Medical Doctor.

Video News
More In Home