Old Lincoln School property rezoned

ROCHELLE — Rochelle City Council members voted on Monday night to rezone the property where the old Lincoln School sits on South Main Street from Industrial (I-1) to Planned Unit Development Commercial (PUD-C).

The change is intended to encourage improved design in the development of land and building now owned by the Vince Carney Community Theater group.
The I-1 zoning was put in place in 2016 when it was originally purchased by the Kennay family to be used for their rick house to store whiskey barrels. The Kennays ultimately chose a different downtown site to build a rick house and the VCCT is now refurbishing parts of the old school building to hold its play productions.
“VCCT has provided preliminary plans to remodel and make improvements to the exterior of the property and maintain it in good standing…”explained Rochelle Community Development Director Michelle Pease. “The property is surrounded by R-5 multi-family zoning on the west, east and south, while the zoning to the north is light industrial.”
The Rochelle Planning and Zoning Commission held a public hearing on April 1 to review the petition from VCCT and voted 6-0 to recommend the zoning proposal change from I-1 to PUD-C.
Hall honored
Local resident Sara Hall was recognized as this month’s Remarkable Resident in a special ceremony at Monday night’s council meeting.
Hall was nominated by LaCretia Konan, and she was presented a certificate and an award by city staff.
“Sara works at Kishwaukee College in the marketing department, resides in Rochelle and is totally team Rochelle,” said Konan in her nomination of Hall. “Her involvement in the Rochelle community and her tenacity for keeping people in the loop regarding events and introductions is priceless. Sara promotes the image of the Rochelle community in a vibrant, energetic and positive manner. She illuminates team Rochelle and is proud of the “Hub City.”

Oath ceremony
Due to a scheduling conflict with city staff and incoming council members, the oath of office swearing in ceremony for new mayor John Bearrows, and councilmen Tom McDermott, Bil Hayes and John Gruben was officially moved from Wednesday, May 1 to Monday, May 6.


Video News
More In Home