RTHS 2023 National Honor Society members inducted

In an elegant and flawlessly-produced candlelight ceremony, 20 members of the junior and senior classes were inducted into the Rochelle Township High School Chapter of the National Honor Society.

20 members of junior and senior classes inducted

ROCHELLE — In an elegant and flawlessly-produced candlelight ceremony, 20 members of the junior and senior classes were inducted into the Rochelle Township High School Chapter of the National Honor Society.

Those 20 students had successfully proven they possessed the qualities of leadership, scholarship, service and character which are the cornerstones of the organization.

NHS Advisor Charity Prose allowed her officers: President Samantha Sanford, Vice President Kailey Harris, Treasurer John Green and Secretary Casandra Garcia to address the inductees on the four pillars of NHS: Leadership, Scholarship, Service and Character. 

Sanford talked of Leadership, quoting author/pastor John Maxwell: “A leader is one who knows the way, goes the way, and shows the way.” Green quoted Albert Einstein and then Nelson Mandela who said, “Education is the most powerful weapon you can use to change the world.” Green encouraged new members to never, ever stop learning - following the RTHS mission of “preparing for tomorrow.”  

Garcia was passionate about Service. “The smallest project can have the most profound impact,” she said, reminding members, “Induction does not mean you are finished serving.” Harris quoted John Hays Hammond regarding Character. He believes it is: “the real foundation of all worthwhile success.”  Kailey said Character is the thing you do when no one is looking. “Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved,” according to Helen Keller.

Established in 1921, the National Honor Society is the oldest and most respected student recognition organization in America. Membership in NHS distinguishes students who have committed themselves to the pursuit of academic excellence, community improvement, and personal development.

While academic achievement is a core component of the NHS, today’s students need much more than just good grades to get ahead. NHS focus on service, leadership and character helps students build skills and relationships to accommodate success throughout academic years and beyond.      

When NHS members participate in community service projects like the RTHS Blood Drives or attend leadership events and serve as ambassadors to their schools & communities, they:

Connect with faculty, community leaders and local business leaders who can provide recommendations and references, as well as leads on future internships and jobs. Build a portfolio of life achievements for use on college and career applications. Begin networking with other student leaders focused on personal growth and build a solid foundation for future endeavors. Become more effective leaders and learn why leadership skills are an essential tool at any stage of life.

With 102 years of history, the NHS membership card and NHS membership certificate represent participation in a proud tradition, a tradition that includes admired and respected names like model/actress Cindy Crawford (a DeKalb HS NHS member), Gloria Estefan, Cal Ripken Jr., Taylor Swift and journalist Diane Sawyer.

Welcoming the 2023 inductees were members: Ellie Carmichael, Landon DeLille, Cassandra Garcia, John Green, Owen Haas, Kailey Harris, Ana Harvey, Bailey Jackson, Rylee Jackson, Olive Nauman, Yuelma Ortiz, Zalak Patel, Layla Pelan, Sophia Rocha, Samantha Sanford, Morgan Smardo, Bailey Sutton, Paul Swartz and David Wanner.

As attending secretary, Wanner presented 2023 National Honor Society nominees to Dr. Chris Lewis for induction:

Seniors Jasmin Hernandez, Ava Lynn, Gisselle Robles, and Ahtziri Zepeda and juniors Kennedy Adamski, Kyra Bivins, Haley Bozinovich, Katelyn Burdin, Jimmy Chavez, Alivia Henkel, Alexis Huerta, Parker Lenkaitis, Aiden Ramsey, Kendall Sachs, Kylie Smith, Addison Stewart, Anna Toczylowski, Danica Ward, William Wise IV and Cale Workman.