Wrestling Club: Junior Hubs scrap at Leyden Wolfpack Open

The Rochelle Wrestling Club competed in two tournaments including the Leyden Wolfpack Open and the Hawk Wrestling Club Invitational over the weekend. The six athletes who wrestled at the Leyden Wolfpack Open (above) include Brandin Kirk, Elias Andronic, Garrett Miller, Wells Millard, Joshua Lassiter and Teddy Millard. (Courtesy photo)

Rochelle sends 23 athletes to Hawk Wrestling Club Invitational

FRANKLIN PARK — The Rochelle Wrestling Club sent six athletes to the Leyden Wolfpack Open on Sunday, Jan. 8. Four Junior Hub wrestlers brought home first-place finishes, while two others recorded top-3 finishes in the single-day tournament at East Leyden High School.

Elias Andronic (3-0), Wells Millard (3-0), Joshua Lassiter (3-0) and Garrett Miller (2-0) each won their respective brackets on Sunday. The four athletes combined for eight falls as well as one technical fall and two decisions. Teddy Millard (2-1) finished second with one fall, one technical fall and one loss by sudden victory. Brandin Kirk (1-2) took third and recorded one fall.


The Rochelle Wrestling Club sent 23 athletes to the Hawk Wrestling Club Invitational on Saturday, Jan. 7. Three Junior Hubs earned first-place finishes, while 10 other athletes  recorded second-place finishes in the single-day tournament at Oregon High School. 

Wells Millard (3-0), Garrett Miller (3-0) and Joshua Lassiter (3-0) went unbeaten to earn titles in the tournament. Brandin Kirk (2-1), Dominic Escatel (2-1), Xander Gonzales (2-1), Colt Hensley (2-1), Chase Marruffo (2-1), Easton Huff (2-1), Tyson Pavlak (1-1), Quentin Ansteth (1-1), Noah Hayden (1-1) and Elias Andronic (1-1) all placed second in their respective brackets. 

Five wrestlers including Gavin Smith (1-2), Elliot Huff (1-2), Julia Herring (1-2), Annika Alsop (0-2) and Kolten Andersen (0-2) took third in the tournament. Vaughn Manning (0-3), Cole Albers (0-3), Tate Bigelow (0-3), Brayden Gross (0-3) and Eoghan Good (0-3) all finished fourth.