Wrestling: Local athletes shine at USAW Illinois Freestyle State Championships

Cannon Ziller (left) and Nehemiah Andronic (right) show off their first-place medals from the USAW Illinois Freestyle State Championship meet at Marmion Academy this past weekend. (Photo by Mara Baker)

Andronic, Ziller, Villalobos take home division titles

AURORA — Marmion Academy hosted the 2022 USAW Illinois Freestyle State Championship meet on Saturday and Sunday, with several Rochelle-area athletes representing the Forge Wrestling Club and other local wrestling clubs during the two-day wrestling competition.

Nehemiah Andronic won the 8U 56 Division title with a 3-0 record. Andronic opened the tournament with a 10-0 technical fall over SCN Youth Wrestling Club’s Andrew Jones before scoring a second 10-0 technical fall against Toss Em Up Wrestling Club’s Nikolas Banda. Andronic sealed the title with a 14-10 decision over Callan Wrestling Club’s Keegan Cumbee.

Cannon Ziller won the 10U 59 Division title with a 3-0 record. Ziller defeated Fox Lake’s Matthew Ahlgrim with a 13-3 technical fall in the first round before topping Barrington Broncos wrestler Alex Strobl with a 17-7 technical fall in the second round. Ziller clinched the title in the third round, scoring a 10-0 technical fall over Callan Wrestling’s Logan Winchell.

William Julian finished sixth in the 14U 106 Division with an 0-3 record and Brandin Kirk went 0-2 in the 14U 149 Division. Tommy Tourdot finished 1-2 in the 16U 113 Division and Xavier Villalobos ended the tournament with an 0-2 record in the 16U 120 Division. 

Jackson Norris went 0-2 in the 16U 126 Division and Kaiden Morris took second in the 16U 220 Division with a 2-1 record. Morris scored an 11-0 technical fall over Schaumburg’s Patryk Rokosz and won by fall over Hurricane Wrestling’s Lamar Bradley in the second round. Morris faced Toss Em Up’s Kai Calcutt for the championship crown, conceding a fall at the 3:06 mark.

Roman Brenden


Roman Villalobos won the 14U 165 Division with a 3-0 record. Villalobos scored a 10-0 technical fall over Fox Valley’s Nikola O’Connor in the first round before earning a bye and defeating Harvey Twisters wrestler Malik Warren with a 16-2 technical fall in the third round. Villalobos sealed the state title with a 13-2 technical fall over Relentless Training Center’s Blake Livdahl.

Brenden Voight took third in the 14U 149 Division with a 3-1 record. Voight opened with a fall over Callan Wrestling’s Tate Keith and a 10-4 decision over FWA’s Isaac Calientos. Voight conceded a 13-10 defeat against Alber Athletics wrestler Eli Larson before winning the third-place consolation bout with an 8-4 decision over Beat the Streets wrestler Sergio Calleros.


Phinehas Nadig won the 8U 70 Division with a 1-0 record, defeating SCN Youth Wrestling’s Alexander Teafoe with a fall at the 1:31 mark. Elijah Nadig finished 0-2 in the 12U 70 Division and Benjamin Nadig went 2-2 in the 14U 97 Division, recording a 10-0 technical fall over St. Charles Wrestling’s Logan Dilallo and a 10-2 decision over ISI Wrestling’s Kristian Declercq.

Joseph Nadig also finished 2-2 in the 16U 120 Division, scoring a 10-0 technical fall over Iguana Wrestling’s Vaughn Hochstatter and a 10-8 decision over Izzy Style’s Jack Palzet.