High school holds honor society induction


ROCHELLE — The National Honor Society of Secondary Schools was established 100 years ago by the National Association of Secondary School Principals to recognize and encourage scholastically outstanding high school students.
The founding committee viewed education as a total experience and the honor society as more than just an honor roll. Emphasized in the original constitution alongside scholarship were leadership, service and character.
Today, its purpose remains intact, to create an enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership and to develop character in the students of secondary schools. 
Immediate acceptance of the NHS mission led to continuous growth and size of membership. Fourteen chapters were chartered during 1922 and by 1930 there were 962 chapters of NHS. Chapters exist in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, all U.S. territories and possessions, and in American schools in more than 40 foreign countries. Throughout the history of NHS, membership has reflected a gender breakdown of two females to one male.
In 1921 an official emblem for the society was created in the form of a keystone and flaming torch. The keystone bears at its base the letters C, S, L, and S, for the fundamental virtues of character, scholarship, leadership, and service. The torch symbolized the search for truth. NHS colors are blue and gold; navy blue and white are the colors for NJHS. The official flower of the NHS is the yellow rose.
On Monday night, the 2021 Rochelle Township High School NHS President Morgan Haas lead the Pledge of Allegiance for the induction ceremony.
This year’s ceremony was a little different than in year’s past. Last year’s ceremony was cancelled due to COVID-19, so the 2020 inductees were recognized as well as the 2021 inductees during the ceremony that was live streamed on YouTube for parents and family members.

The 2020 inductees include: Vanessa Avolio, Garrett Burdin, Madison Carmichael, Heidi Cruz, Sterling Devers, Melanie Gonzalez, Clare Green, Morgan Haas, Benjamin Harvey, Lauren Hopkins, Sofia Lenkaitis, Sawyer McGee, Lauren Ponto, Alexis Sanford, Ayah Sbeih, Jesenia Solano, Ayden Theiss, Megan Thiravong, Jillian Thomason, Samuel Villalobos, Mary Wall, Spencer Warborg and Faith Worthington
2021 Senior Inductees include: Afi Gati, Crue Larsen, Isabella Lodico, Noah Messer and Lizbeth Ugalde
2021 Junior Inductees include: Nathan Burdin, Miguel Cruz, Riley Flanagan, Sergio Guevara, Emma Hicks, Marlen Hueramo, Ashley Knight, Tanner Lager, Josh Lloyd, Josie Lundquist, Ella McKinney, Madison Ost, Devansh Patel, Schuyler Podolski, Leslie Rodriguez, Zach Sanford, Ryan Simmons, Zoey Tabor, Megan Thompson and Cecilia Vargas.
“I thank everyone for their patience this year especially with calendar changes, guidance changes, mask wearing, hybrid classes, online classes, event cancelations, and of course no more snow days and no more days off…,” principal Chris Lewis said. “This month marks the one year anniversary that we have been shut down and no one would have thought it would last this long.”
Lewis went on to thank parents for the part they have played in their child’s academic accomplishments.
“Parents, the 2021 school year has been incredibly challenging. The hard work of your child’s academic work is appreciated. Your child’s success would not happen without your support,” he said. “Under our current academic system your child had to grow tremendously in patience, time management and study skills. Not only is it stressful for teachers and students, but parents who are backing them in this unknown territory.”

Even through the challenges students, faculty and administrators have faced over the past year, students are still showing academic success.
“You have heard many times our purpose at RTHS: “Preparing students for their tomorrow.” I believe based on the many challenges you have had to overcome, you are more prepared for your tomorrow than ever before,” Lewis said. “… under the circumstances, the people in this room have maintained high academic standards or qualities of scholarship, leadership service and character. You’ve been honored and recognized by the teachers and are inducted into the National Honor Society of Rochelle Township High School. Congrats on a job well done.”
Faith Worthington is Vice President, Lauren Hopkins is treasurer, Sterling Devers is Secretary and Jesenia Solano is Attendance Secretary of the 2021 RTHS NHS.