Scholarships awarded


ROCHELLE — The Foundation for Focus House and Community Programming awarded four scholarships on June 2.
The LaVerne Adams Scholarship Fund was established in May of 2002 following Mr. Adams’ death.  A long time resident of Ogle County, Mr. Adams sat on the Ogle County Board from 1972 until 2002.  At the time Focus House was established in 1975, Mr. Adams was appointed and served as the chairperson of the county committee that over saw the operation of the program. His family started the scholarship in LaVerne’s name due to his commitment to Ogle County youth.
The winner of the $500 LaVerne Adams Scholarship is Breanna DeHaan, Oregon High School Class of 2020.
The Judge F. Lawrence Lenz Scholarship Fund was established in April 2003 by his family following his death. As an Ogle County Circuit Judge, Judge Lenz elected to be the juvenile court judge. In this capacity he was one of the instrumental supporters of the opening of Focus House in 1975. From the bench he believed in the value of having community based programs and was an advocate of Focus House until his death.

The winner of the $500 Judge F.L. Lenz Scholarship is Austin Greifenkamp, Rochelle Township High School Class of 2020.
The Foundation for Focus House and Community Programming, established in 2005, exists to receive and administer contributions, gifts, memorials and bequests for the exclusive purpose of enhancing programming at Focus House and offering community programs that enhance, enrich and supplement individuals involved in court services.  The winners of the two $250 Foundation for Focus House and Community Programming Scholarships are Lauren Montavon of Oregon High School and Paige Lockard of Rockford University.