Wrestling Club: Rochelle kids scrap at Hawk Invitational

Five Junior Hub wrestlers earn first-place finishes


OREGON — The Rochelle Wrestling Club sent 23 competitors to the Oregon Hawk Wrestling Invitational on Saturday, with five competitors bringing home first-place finishes in the meet.

Xander Gonzales placed first in the 204 Tots Division with a 2-0 record. Gonzales won by fall over Rock Falls’ Weston Hollaway and scoring a 16-0 technical fall over Benjamin Navejas.

Dominic Escatel took first in the 403 Bantam Division with a 3-0 record. Escatel earned an 8-0 major decision against Dixon’s Zoey Barber before recording a 14-2 major decision over Rock Falls’ Easton Kendrick. Escatel pinned Woodstock’s Drake Zimmerman to win the title.

Quade Dickey finished first in the 408 Bantam Division with a 3-0 record. Dickey won by fall over Sterling’s Denver Hanabarger before defeating Rock Falls’ Raleigh Hollaway with a 15-2 major decision. Dickey edged North Boone’s Francesca Yurs with a 10-6 decision for the title.

Teddy Millard placed first in the 506 Intermediate Division with a 3-0 record. Millard scored back-to-back falls over River Bend’s Maxwell Breuning and Stillman Valley’s Nikolai Hetland before outlasting Rock Falls’ Caden Wiebenga with a 6-4 decision to win the title.

Deegan Schabacker finished first in the 807 Senior Division with a 3-0 record. Schabacker pinned Oregon’s Jakobi Donegan before earning a 16-3 major decision against Polo’s Zhyler Hansen. Schabacker then pinned Metamora’s Parker McDonald to win the title.

Wells Millard took second in the 102 Tots Division with a 2-1 record. Millard scored a 10-8 decision over Rock Falls’ Camdyn Stage before pinning Sterling’s Daxton Richmond. Millard faced Belvidere’s James Ambelang in the third round, falling just short in a 11-10 decision.

Elias Andronic placed second in the 106 Tots Division with a 2-1 record. Andronic won by fall over Stockton’s Brigson Decker before conceding an 8-5 decision to Sterling’s Brixx Folkers. Andronic concluded the tournament with a fall over Stillman Valley’s Owen Provancher.

Nehemiah Andronic finished second in the 202 Tots Division with a 2-1 record. Andronic scored two consecutive pins against Rock Falls’ Deakon Zemke and Belvidere’s Quinten Bradford. Andronic faced Dixon’s Patrick Shaw in the third round, falling to finish second in the division.

Elliot Huff took second in the 211 Bantam Division with a 2-1 record. Huff earned a 12-9 decision over North Boone’s Henry Cleland before coming just short in a 13-8 decision to DuPec’s Gabriel Ford. Huff won by fall over Hononegah’s Emmett Riportella in the third round.

Silas Alsop placed second in the 307 Bantam Division with a 2-1 record. Alsop brought home a 7-5 decision against Belvidere’s Abraham Delgadillo before dropping a 9-3 decision to Dixon’s Briggs VanOosten. Alsop pinned Stockton’s Holden Powell to close out the tournament.

Chase Marruffo finished second in the 308 Bantam Division with a 2-1 record. Marruffo recorded consecutive pins to start the tournament, defeating Machesney Park’s Liam Slye and Stillman Valley’s Hunter Jarrett. Marruffo conceded a 6-4 decision to Stockton’s Neklous Jones.

Gavin Smith took second in the 401 Bantam Division with a 2-1 record. After falling by 14-3 major decision against DuPec’s Kollin Jacobson, Smith bounced back with two straight victories, beating Dixon’s Kenadie Lahey by 11-4 decision and pinning Stillman Valley’s Gabe Keller.

Garrett Miller finished second in the 610 Intermediate Division with a 2-1 record. Miller scored a 10-0 major decision over DuPec’s Penelope Anderson before falling to Stockton’s Piper Sandell. Miller closed out the tournament with a 7-0 decision over Amboy’s Owen Eisenberg.

Benjamin Morris placed second in the 611 Intermediate Division with a 2-1 record. After falling against Freeport’s Levi Pretzsch in the first round, Morris scored a second-round pin against Belvidere’s Brian Wadsworth as well as a third-round pin against Amboy’s Eyan O’Malley.

Zachary Johnson took second in the 705 Novice Division with a 2-1 record. Johnson edged Sterling’s Ethan Schommer with a 4-2 decision before pinning Dakota’s Zakkary Vincent. Johnson fell against Oregon’s Levi Benton in the third round to close out the tournament.

Six Rochelle wresters recorded third-place finishes in the tournament including Luke Hofmann, Benjamin Navejas, Braxton Ellison, Rowen Villalobos, Samuel Navejas and Tony Milburn. Two wrestlers finished fourth in their respective divisions including Axel Alsop and Felix Belmonte.