Rochelle's Pontes inducted into Kish NSLS chapter

MALTA — The Kishwaukee College chapter of the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) held an induction ceremony on campus on Friday, April 21. The NSLS chapter at Kishwaukee College was established in Fall 2014.  The chapter advisors are Allison von Ende and Pernevlon Ellis.
The mission of NSLS is to help students discover and achieve their goals. The Society, founded by Gary Tuerack, emphasizes the six steps of leadership: clarification of purpose, creation of a shared vision, challenge of the status quo, inspiration of positive action, empowerment of others, and continuous improvement.  The society was founded in 2001 and currently has nearly 500,000 members at 478 colleges across the United States.
New Chapter officers for the 2017 – 2018 academic year, recognized at the induction ceremony, are: Robert Whitten, Genoa, President; Ellaine Pontes, Rochelle, Vice President; Charles Gatbunton, Cortland, Membership Outreach Chair.
In addition, members who qualified for National Engaged Leader Awards (NELA) were recognized. NELA members have attended additional speaker broadcasts, network team meetings and community service hours above and beyond the standard membership requirements. Receiving NELA recognitions were: Catherine Camacho, DeKalb; Charles Gatbunton, Cortland; Richelle Harmon, Rockford; Joshua Lazenby, DeKalb; Jenise Lorenzy, DeKalb; Mykia Merchant, Chicago; Kailey Munro, Sycamore; Jennifer Parker, Malta; Ellaine Pontes, Rochelle; Elissa Reynolds, Sycamore; Chase Riley, Elgin; Ana Rocio Sandoval, DeKalb; Christopher Steevens, DeKalb; Eli Vogeler, Oregon; and Chad Young, Bellwood.
The Chapter also recognized faculty and staff members at Kishwaukee College for their support of the student experience on campus. Receiving a Plaque of Recognition were the following: for Excellence in Teaching – Tina Hultgren, Matt Read, and Benjamin Davis; for Excellence in Service to Students – Branden McCullough, Sara Eggleston, Charlotte Estes, Donna Keller, and Sam Kruizenga.
At the induction ceremony at Kishwaukee College, 35 students joined NSLS. Inducted into the Society in Spring 2017 are:
Belvidere - Terrie Broughton; Chicago - Kaysia Argyeman; Cortland - Rachel Cloud and Jeremy Parenti; DeKalb - Jasmine Aracely Padilla Gonzalez, Gabbie Bogolin, Catherine Camacho, Destiny Day, Rory Gallagher, Arpagus Green, Obeidurrahman Kirmani, Aaron Knight, Elizabeth Leon, Mary Ngengi, Oluwasetemi Ojelade and Armani Searcy; Dolton - Paige Anderson; Genoa - Thomas Hansen; Hinckley - Daniel Roop; Kingston - Sheryl Sunderlag; Kirkland - Uriah Schreur; Marengo - Philip Oliver; Rochelle - Nicole Dobbs, Christine Newman-Askins, Tiffany Newman-Askins, Ty Orlikowski and Skyler Quinn; Rockton - Emily Fandre; Skokie - Shanequa Allen-Burton; and Sycamore - Anna Cantrell, Hayley Foord, Brittany Lane, Kayla Nelson and Treyvor Ney.

Video News